Neuroscience Recent News and Awards

Highlighted news about our faculty and students

  • Caitlin Carroll (PhD student, advisor: Macauley) was awarded a Trainee Professional Development Award from the Society for Neuroscience. Her 2019 abstract was selected among the top 50 to be featured in a press release.

  • The Institutional Center for Research on Substance Use and Addiction was renewed for three years.

  • Dr. Jeff Weiner serves as director of the new Wake Forest Translational Alcohol Research Center (WF-TARC), that will employ preclinical animal models and clinical research to study behavioral and neurobiological factors associated with vulnerability and resilience to alcohol use disorder (AUD). The Center is funded by a new $8 million grant from the NIH.

  • Dr. Christos Constantinidis was recently awarded a new RO1 award from NEI: Neurophysiological Effects of Training in Visual Cognitive Task

  • Dr. Ken Kishida has been awarded two new NIH RO1 awards: DA048096: 'Real-time neurochemical encoding of predictions errors and subjective experience in humans' and MH121099: 'Neuro-computational Basis of Mood and Depression'

  • Nicole Kasica (PhD candidate, advisor: Ma) has been selected to receive an ADDF Young Investigator Scholarship which will be presented at the 20th International Conference on Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery on September 16-17, 2019 in Jersey City, NJ.

  • Dr. Christina Hugenschmidt won the 2019 Early Career Investigator in Clinical Science award.

  • Dr. Jeff Weiner won the 2019 Established Investigator in Basic Science Award.

  • Dr. Waldemar Debinski won the 2019 Established Investigator in Basic Science Award.

  • Dr. Suzanne Craft won the 2019 Established Investigator in Clinical Science Award.

  • Dr. Linda Porrino won the 2019 Special Achievement Award.

  • Brianna George (PhD student, advisor: Jones) was recently awarded an individual NRSA from NIDA entitled, 'Dopamine D3 Receptors as a Potential Therapeutic Target for Heroin Abuse.'

  • Joshua Seideman (PhD student, advisors: Stanford and Salinas) was selected to attend the 2019 Methods in Computational Neuroscience Course at MBL at Woods Hole.

  • Tugce Duran (MS student, advisor: Hugenschmidt) was invited to attend a workshop at the NIH entitled 'Cognitive Effects of Hormone Replacement Therapy.'

  • The Neuroscience Program welcomes new faculty members: Rebecca Sappington, Ryan Drenan, and Robert Gould!

  • Drs. Terrence Stanford and Emilio Salinas were recently awarded a new R21 award from NIMH: 'A computational framework for attention during urgent choices.'

  • Drs. Jeff Martin and Sara Jones were recently awarded a new R01 from NIDA: 'Biased Kappa Opioid Agonists as Non-Addictive Analgesics'

  • Dr. Sam Lockhart will serve as site PI for the Neuroimaging Core of the Alzheimer's Disease Research Center P30 from NIH and the US POINTER Neuroimaging ancillary study.