Student Leadership

Leadership in the Wake Forest PA Program centers on the Katherine Anderson Society (KAS), the school’s chapter of the Student Academy of the American Academy of PA (SAAAPA).

The Katherine Anderson Society was named for the first Medical Director of the Wake Forest School of Medicine PA Program and a much-respected physician in both the community and the institution.
“Katie,” as Dr. Anderson was affectionately known, was a pediatrician in Winston-Salem for 25 years and the first woman to be elected president of the local medical society. As the Medical Director of the PA Program from 1969 until her retirement in 1976, Katie’s understanding of physician assistants and their role on the medical team was instrumental to the development of the educational philosophy and curriculum of the program.

Class of 2023 KAS officers and committee members: 

Position Boone Dual Winston
President Samson Triantis   Kate Oldham
Vice President Doreen Yang   Sarah Borgnes
Secretary Samantha Darmon   Madalyn Ferlazzo
Treasurer Madeline Turnau   Terry Chukwuneke
Student Inclusion and Diversity   Monica Gomez  
SAAPA   Josh Penninger  
NCAPA Rep   Cady Trvalik  
PAPA Rep   Sky Holder  
AppAPA Rep   Emily Cohea  
Madi Nichols   Maggie Sohmer
Community Engagement Sydney Whitcomb   Ansley Heath Phillips
IT Support Tim Rousseau   Sarah Mitchell
Courtney Martin   Jasmine Ragland
Fundraising Natalie Horback   Mary Heintzelman

You can learn more about the accomplishments of our student leaders by reading Inside Wake PA, our quarterly digital magazine for students, alumni, and friends of the program