Aarti Sarwal, MD, Named Recipient of the Distinguished Service Award by Society of Critical Care Medicine

December 12, 2023

Aarti Sarwal headshot.

Aarti Sarwal, MD, professor of neurology, was selected as the recipient of the 2024 Distinguished Service Award by the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM).

This distinction is awarded to one member each year during the American College of Critical Care Medicine Convocation and SCCM awards ceremony.

Sarwal is a fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine and was also the recipient of the 2023 Presidential citation from SCCM. She has been a member of SCCM since 2007, served as a member of the SCCM Ultrasound Committee and as teaching faculty at the SCCM Critical Care Ultrasound courses. Sarwal also directs the annual SCCM Neurocritical Care Review Course conducted in the fall and the pre-congress Neuromonitoring Course. She serves on the SCCM social media committee and is the social media editor for Critical Care Medicine.

The SCCM is the largest nonprofit medical organization dedicated to promoting excellence and consistency in the practice of critical care. With members in more than 80 countries, SCCM is the only organization that represents all professional components of the critical care team. The Society offers a variety of activities that ensure excellence in patient care, education, research and advocacy.