Welcome to the website of our Critical Care Fellowship; we are excited that you are interested in our program! Please contact the Fellowship Coordinator or any program faculty for additional information.

The fellowship is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and fulfills all requirements for board certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM).

Although the fellowship program is an Internal Medicine fellowship and ACGME-accredited for board certification under ABIM, the program and core faculty are academically housed within the Department of Anesthesiology, Section on Critical Care.

The Critical Care Fellowship program at Wake Forest School of Medicine is one or two years in duration, depending upon prior training.

We are committed to recruiting and training talented individuals from diverse backgrounds and communities. Creating a climate of inclusion and embracing diversity are priorities for the program.

We accept physicians who have completed residency or subspecialty training in internal medicine and emergency medicine. Applicants with other specialty training are also considered.

Prior graduates of the fellowship programs have come from diverse backgrounds, including:

  • Anesthesiology
  • Internal medicine
  • Emergency medicine
  • Cardiology
  • Endocrinology
  • Obstetrics and gynecology
  • Pulmonary medicine
  • Hematology and oncology
  • Nephrology
  • Infectious disease

Program Goals

The Critical Care Medicine Fellowship provides a strong core of multidisciplinary critical care training and experiences, designed to allow graduates of the program to provide comprehensive care to critically ill patients in virtually any type of ICU environment. The fellowship also allows fellows to tailor their education to the components of critical care that complement and expand upon their previous training. Please visit the curriculum page for further information.

Why Choose Wake Forest for Fellowship?

Several current fellows describe what they love about being at Wake Forest and living in Winston-Salem.