Nominations for the MAA's annual awards are accepted from MAA members, and recipients are selected by the MAA Board's Nominating and Awards Committee.

Nominations may be made at any time. Individuals may be honored as recipients only once in each award category, and awards are presented to living nominees only.

  • Distinguished Achievement Award
    Honors an alumna/us or house staff alumna/us who has distinguished him/herself in the profession of medicine.
  • Distinguished Faculty Award
    Honors a current or former faculty member for outstanding contributions to Wake Forest University School of Medicine.
  • Distinguished Service Award
    Honors an alumnus, house staff alumnus or a non-alumnus for outstanding contributions to Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Wake Forest Baptist Health, the community and/or the practice of medicine.
  • Student Excellence Award
    Honors a graduating student whose peers believe best demonstrates the qualities needed to become the model of a complete physician—knowledge, compassion and dedication. 

2023 Award Recipients

Distinguished Achievement

Patricia L. Turner, MD ’96, MBA, FACS

Distinguished Faculty

Amy J. McMichael, MD

Distinguished Service

Christopher A. Ohl, MD, FACP, FIDSA

MAA Student Excellence

Collette A. O’Connor, MD, Class of 2023

Past recipients of the MAA Distinguished Awards