Nominations for the MAA's annual awards are accepted from MAA members, and recipients are selected by the MAA Board's Awards and Nominations Committee.

Nominations may be made at any time. Individuals may be honored as recipients only once in each award category, and awards are presented to living nominees only.

  • Distinguished Achievement Award
    Honors an alumna/us or house staff alumna/us who has distinguished him/herself in the profession of medicine
  • Distinguished Faculty Award
    Honors a current or former faculty member for outstanding contributions to the Medical Center
  • Distinguished Service Award
    Honors an alumna/us or non-alumna/us for outstanding contributions to the Medical Center
  • Student Excellence Award
    Honors a graduating student whose peers believe best demonstrates the qualities needed to become the model of a complete physician—knowledge, compassion and dedication.

2020 Award Recipients

Distinguished Achievement

Bruce L. Flamm, MD '79

Distinguished Faculty

 William R. Hazzard, MD

Distinguished Service

Hal M. Stuart, MD '56

MAA Student Excellence

Luke P. Hedrick, MD '20 
Ivory J. Shelton, MD '20


Past recipients of the MAA Distinguished Awards